Slo-Mo version of the game-winning kick

Frost also mentioned he's looking for clarification on the rules around hitting the snapper, since teams seem to be bullrushing Urbach which is supposed to be illegal. Although I don't know the rule for sure, it could be just not lining up over him. In either case, a lot of the push is right through the snapper.

 
Frost also mentioned he's looking for clarification on the rules around hitting the snapper, since teams seem to be bullrushing Urbach which is supposed to be illegal. Although I don't know the rule for sure, it could be just not lining up over him. In either case, a lot of the push is right through the snapper.
I read somewhere else that they are supposed to be given one second after the snap before they can be hit to allow them to reset.  But that doesn't seem to be happening.

 
Frost also mentioned he's looking for clarification on the rules around hitting the snapper, since teams seem to be bullrushing Urbach which is supposed to be illegal. Although I don't know the rule for sure, it could be just not lining up over him. In either case, a lot of the push is right through the snapper.


Yes, this needs to be addressed. That's at least the second time we've had defenders going right through Urbach.

 
Yeah it almost does looks like the ball changes direction.  Then again it could be just how he kicked the ball.  That was pretty cool.

 
It does look like it angled to camera left after it was kicked. I need more pixels, knap, go find a better video!

 
I've watched it a bunch of times at full speed at it sounds like contact was made twice with the ball and I agree that it looks like the spin changed after it went by the defenders, so I'm of the opinion that it was kicked and then tipped.

 
Frost also mentioned he's looking for clarification on the rules around hitting the snapper, since teams seem to be bullrushing Urbach which is supposed to be illegal. Although I don't know the rule for sure, it could be just not lining up over him. In either case, a lot of the push is right through the snapper.


On Sunday, the Vikings had penalty on a Giant's field goal because the Giant's center got hit and knocked down.  They said on the broadcast that the NFL rule is that the center can't get hit on a special team's snap because their head is so far down, they want to protect the player.

You'd think if the NFL has a player protection in, college would too.

 
On Sunday, the Vikings had penalty on a Giant's field goal because the Giant's center got hit and knocked down.  They said on the broadcast that the NFL rule is that the center can't get hit on a special team's snap because their head is so far down, they want to protect the player.

You'd think if the NFL has a player protection in, college would too.


Finally took the time to go find it:

Contact Against the Snapper
ARTICLE 14. When a team is in scrimmage kick formation, a defensive player may not initiate contact with the snapper until one second has elapsed after the snap (A.R. 9-1-14-I-III)

 
Back
Top