Need help understanding something.

BOskers

New member
Sorry to ask an officiating question but I was wondering about in the 3rd quarter around 6:20 mark. Blabbert is called for Grounding/ Ileagal pass. that was first and 10.= loss of Down. shouldn;t it of been 3rd and 17 from the Mizz 13 yard line? The brain box announcers called it second down. Then blabbert goes for 16. should of made it 4th and 1. Just curious as to what the true ruling was?

 
Not really sure. I was kind of wondering how, since every play is reviewed in college, a clear fumble wasn't noticed.

Equally confusing was how in the first half when Nebraska was called for defensive holding it was a 15 yard penalty and in the second half it was a 10 yard penalty.

 
hmm, i do remember them saying that, but then i thought they had just gotten the first down anyway? Intentional grounding is supposed to be loss of down.

 
Sorry to ask an officiating question but I was wondering about in the 3rd quarter around 6:20 mark. Blabbert is called for Grounding/ Ileagal pass. that was first and 10.= loss of Down. shouldn;t it of been 3rd and 17 from the Mizz 13 yard line? The brain box announcers called it second down. Then blabbert goes for 16. should of made it 4th and 1. Just curious as to what the true ruling was?
Gabbert ran for 16 on second down. On intentional grounding, unlike other penalties, you don't get to replay the down. On other penalties the penalized team gets to redo the down. Had there been holding on that play it would have been 1st and 20 at the ten. Instead, it was 2nd and 17 at the 13, where Gabbert threw the ball. Intentional grounding is essentially a sack. You get the down plus the yardage.

The next play was 2nd and 17 and Gabbert ran for 16 yards. On third and one, Moore ran for the first down.

Nothing out of the ordinary.

 
Sorry to ask an officiating question but I was wondering about in the 3rd quarter around 6:20 mark. Blabbert is called for Grounding/ Ileagal pass. that was first and 10.= loss of Down. shouldn;t it of been 3rd and 17 from the Mizz 13 yard line? The brain box announcers called it second down. Then blabbert goes for 16. should of made it 4th and 1. Just curious as to what the true ruling was?
Gabbert ran for 16 on second down. On intentional grounding, unlike other penalties, you don't get to replay the down. On other penalties the penalized team gets to redo the down. Had there been holding on that play it would have been 1st and 20 at the ten. Instead, it was 2nd and 17 at the 13, where Gabbert threw the ball. Intentional grounding is essentially a sack. You get the down plus the yardage.

The next play was 2nd and 17 and Gabbert ran for 16 yards. On third and one, Moore ran for the first down.

Nothing out of the ordinary.
:yeah

Intentional grounding is basically just a sack. They do not get to replay the down and the ball is placed where the QB threw it.

 
It wouldn't have gone from 1st down to 3rd down, if that's what you are asking. You have your choice of taking the play (incomplete pass) OR the penalty (penalty yardage plus loss of down). You don't get a loss of down from the play and an additional loss of down on the penalty.

And could you please make the subject line describe your question, rather than just "I have a question"? It helps people know what a thread is about and reduces duplicate threads. Thanks.

 
Sorry to ask an officiating question but I was wondering about in the 3rd quarter around 6:20 mark. Blabbert is called for Grounding/ Ileagal pass. that was first and 10.= loss of Down. shouldn;t it of been 3rd and 17 from the Mizz 13 yard line? The brain box announcers called it second down. Then blabbert goes for 16. should of made it 4th and 1. Just curious as to what the true ruling was?
Gabbert ran for 16 on second down. On intentional grounding, unlike other penalties, you don't get to replay the down. On other penalties the penalized team gets to redo the down. Had there been holding on that play it would have been 1st and 20 at the ten. Instead, it was 2nd and 17 at the 13, where Gabbert threw the ball. Intentional grounding is essentially a sack. You get the down plus the yardage.

The next play was 2nd and 17 and Gabbert ran for 16 yards. On third and one, Moore ran for the first down.

Nothing out of the ordinary.
:yeah

Intentional grounding is basically just a sack. They do not get to replay the down and the ball is placed where the QB threw it.

Now it makes sense. Thanks for the clarification.

 
Back
Top